“Great Masters in the Beethoven House”
F.Schubert “Winterreise”

13 October

“The great Schubert experience. (“Winterreise”)…Everyone follows him as if hypnotized, deeper and deeper into the torn consciousness of the winter hiker.” DER SPIEGEL

IAN BOSTRIDGE is considered one of the most important, because most exciting, most independent and most idiosyncratic interpreters of this song cycle. And as one of the most knowledgeable.

Few singers have dealt with Schubert’s Winterreise as intensively as the English tenor Ian Bostridge: Not only countless performances, several Grammy nominations and recordings over the past 30 years bear witness to this, but also his highly acclaimed monograph on the cycle, published in 2015. On the occasion of his first recital at the Beethoven-Haus in Bonn, Bostridge and Rostislav Krimer will perform Schubert’s “scary songs” – as the composer himself once called them.

Text – Wilhelm Müller

Ian BOSTRIDGE – tenor
Rostislav KRIMER – piano


01. Gute Nacht
02. Die Wetterfahne
03. Gefrorene Tränen
04. Erstarrung
05. Der Lindenbaum
06. Die Post
07. Wasserflut
08. Auf dem Flusse
09. Rückblick
10. Der greise Kopf
11. Die Krähe
12. Letzte Hoffnung
13. Im Dorfe
14. Der stürmische Morgen
15. Täuschung
16. Der Wegweiser
17. Das Wirtshaus
18. Irrlicht
19. Rast
20. Die Nebensonnen
21. Frühlingstraum
22. Einsamkeit
23. Mut!
24. Der Leiermann

Duration of the event: approx. 1h 15 min without a break


After the concert Ian Bostridge will speak to the audience about his books and his life (in English). The audience has the opportunity to ask their own questions.

Ian Bostridge
& Rostislav Krimer

13 October 20:00
Bonngasse 22-24, 53111 Bonn
Beethoven-Haus Bonn
The artists performing at the event are
Ian Bostridge

His numerous recordings have received all the major international record awards and been nominated for 15 Grammys.

His recording of Schubert’s Winterreise for Pentaton was awarded Vocal Recording of the Year 2020 at the International Classical Music Awards.

Rostislav Krimer
piano / conductor

The historical recording of all 4 chamber symphonies by Miezysław Weinberg has received several Opus Klassik and ICMA Award nominations, received 5 stars from BBC Magazine, CD of the week by Norman Lebrecht among other top critics worldwide.

Rostislav Krimer is also the founder and artistic director of the Ost-West-Festival NRW, which will welcome the best musicians in the world in 2023, where the Friedensorchester East-West Chamber Orchestra will once again be the orchestra-in-residence.

This event is a part of Ost-West-Festival
For more information on the artists, program and actions for this festival, see the dedicated section
Festival program